Tell us all about your experiences of this service area.
Very poor services considering it covers two major routes. We stopped off about 9pm after a horrendous journey down the M6 and M40 on our way to Portsmouth. Poor choice of food and when we ordered what seemed the only vaguely substantial non-burger option we were told they were sold out. I will never use this pathetic excuse for a service area again.
Alex Smith, Mon 2 Jan 2017
Awful services. Very poorly maintained facilities. Only one disabled toilet resulting in long queues. Would be impossible for coach load of elderly people. Had to take my disabled mother into normal toilets she could manage but it was sad to see at least one other disabled lady struggling to manage as she had to leave her walker protruding from cubicle and could not shut door. Several toilets and a tap out of order and taped off. Would think just unfortunate vandalism except that it was just the same a week ago. Could have easily been repaired in the meantime. During the week it appears. no attempt had been made to repair. A cleaner was wandering round ineffectively wiping round sinks. He would have been more usefully employed checking on the toilets. Terrible experience.
Elizabeth Bishop, Sat 17 Sep 2016
Was very disappointed with the service at Arlo restaurant. Firstly, I went to the food service counter and asked if I could buy some chips take away. He said noHe said yes but I had to go to the main central coffee station and order them. I asked if the chips were cooked alone or was meat cooked in the same oil. He replied no, only chips in the fryer. So I went over to order the chips. The boy serving was very blank in expression and attitude towards his work, almost zombie like... Â£1.99 he said. I paid and was given a huge block of wood and was told to sit down and wait. After about ten minutes, I watched a worker give a couple of ladies their food, huge portions of fries with their burgers and garnish. Then I saw a small container clutched in her arm getting squashed. She proceeded to walk towards me. I was horrified when she presented it to me. I opened it infront of her and asked "two pounds for this amount of chips?" She just looked blankly at me and walked off. It was barely half full. I was so annoyed! Was in a rush so didn't bother arguing. Went to buy my mocha from costa and had a totally different service there. The girl was so cheerful and extremely obliging, even when I forgot to ask for skimmed milk and she had already half made it with full fat milk, she re-did it for me. I was so happy with her kindness.
khalila hussain, Sat 31 Oct 2015
An experience that could only be described as disappointing:The Arlo restaurant managed to mess up our order, by confusing us with another table and also charging to much. Eventually after rectifying the initial error they failed to provide me with a receipt. In the mean time, our food had appeared but no sign of the drinks. After trying to catch the attention of the server I was told to go to the back of the very long que, only to be told when I got to the front that I should of come to the front and asked ...which strangely enough is what I did. Due to the monumental error they made they were unable to provide me with any form of receipt, despite several requests. In the end with mounting exasperation and fed up with the continued level of incompetence (with supervisor demeaning and critising trainee/new staff in front of customers) we gave up and left.
In order to placate the family we joined the queue for Costa, where I ordered 2 coffees. My attempt to use my rewards for forces veterans discount card, caused the glum faced cashier to mutter incoherently, stating that she "didn't know what to do", before seemingly starting to talk in a hetherto unknown language, weary, resigned to the futility of it all and becoming more and more depressed by the minute, I paid full price and departed swiftly.
Chieveley services - a service that can only be described as AWFUL!!!!!!
Maggie Moles, Mon 26 Oct 2015
Fantastic idea letting cars park in the HGV parking area. Can't wait for the day when someone gets killed by a reversing truck. Just love the way that children run and play amongst the trucks. Even saw two children make a game of running under a HGV trailer from one side to the other, the parents thought it was delightful.
George Purdew, Sun 2 Aug 2015
Most expensive and worst coffee at Costa. Staff unwelcoming and totally disinterested. Will NEVER revisit here, even when desperate! Please avoid if you don't want to mortgage your home for a drink.
SteveB, Sat 25 Jul 2015
Arlos brilliant service no hard sell and fantastic value when you compare to other motorway food restaurants. Well done !
Stuart Morgan, Wed 17 Jun 2015
Forgot to state we stopped at the Chievely services.
Maz, Tue 16 Jun 2015
On the way back from London and visited Costa coffee Sunday 7th June. Prices are so, so expensive there, just like London! Bought 2 coffees and a finger like viennese cake/biscuit which was about Â£1. 55 totalling well over Â£7. Being a senior citizen with a limited income will have to think twice before I go there again.
I stopped here with Angela Coach and unfortunately left my light jacket behind in the Costa coffee eating place. I tried three times trying to phone to see if anyone had handed my coat into the counter using the phone number quoted on the IPad but after hanging on for four minutes, and no one answered the phone, I rang off. Not very good customer service, just to speak to someone!! I live in Fareham, and don't wish to drive up to the Service Station without knowing if a person had been honest and passed my jacket in to be reclaimed. Being a senior person I really do not wish to have to buy a new coat. If anyone knows about the coat please contact Angela coaches in Fareham, we had travelled back from Glasgow. We stopped on the 12/6/ at about 1.45 p.m.
Margaret, Sat 13 Jun 2015
can you buy alcohol here?
Ling, Thu 14 May 2015
I stopped here today and went into Arlo's. It's a great new restaurant, not what I would expect to see at a motorway rest area. I would highly recommend.
Andrew, Fri 10 Apr 2015
You can only get burger king here with meal voucher for truck drivers not a good choice of food
Andy, Wed 1 Apr 2015
Completely bloody useless again. Popped in here quickly and asked every shop for change for a twenty pound note. Not one would give me any and all I got was I cant do that you have to buy something. Complete crap. There is no customer service skills at all here. Tills can be opened without making a purchase they just can't be bothered. It amuses me that they are called a service area which is supposed to offer a service but obviously that is a complete lie. Avoid this place.
Jay, Sat 14 Feb 2015
Really annoying place. I stop here regularly and find it infuriating that there are hardly any English working here and you have to constantly keep repeating yourself to staff because they don't understand anything you say. I thought for the foreigners to be over here working they are supposed to have a good grasp of the English language. This is not the case here. More English please.
Jaydemon, Sun 11 Jan 2015
I stopped on Monday 16th December on your westbound carriageway site. It was the only place we stopped on our journey...and later that day we were unable to find our spare car keys etc. I wondered if they'd been dropped at your site and then handed in? Sorry to be a bit late, but I've tried your listed 01635-248024 number and you must be busy as I've not got an answer yet.
Kind regards...Dace Ainsworth 01708-377382 home 07712-960722 mobile
David Ainsworth, Tue 30 Dec 2014
The Ã‚Â£100 extortions for parking can generally not be upheld by law, and I recommend Money Saving Expert (Martin Lewis) for advice.
Brian Willcocks, Wed 12 Nov 2014
I wanted to make comment on the friendliness of the staff in the Costa Costa. I am a regular traveller on the M4 and each time i visit the staff not only remember me but also my order! Keep it up and well done,
Anonymous, Mon 10 Nov 2014
Pulled in to Chieveley 9.00 this morning coming back from Goodwood revival not a regular caravaner but towing one on this occasion saw no signs for caravans so followed car signs but soon realised there were no caravan spaces but spotted coach park which looked pretty empty so pulled in there. Had only stepped out of my vehicle to be confronted by a man in a high vis, did I get "sorry sir we would prefer you didn't park there" or "would you mind parking with the commercials please" no we didn't even get a good morning all we got was high handed rudeness with a threat of a ticket if I didn't move it straight away, no dialog he just shot his mouth off then walked away! So I did move it, I took it to the Membury services, they have a special area all signed up and user friendly for caravan . As for me going there again NEVER don't suppose they will loose to much sleep over that but it does strike me they need to get there act together and some of the staff clearly need training on their people skills. The guy in question 50ish grey hair, bit of a beer belly, obviously unhappy in his work. Summary, can only hope that someone wises him up to the fact that it's people like me who pay his wages. Think my wife best summed him up "rude pig"
Bob Morgan, Mon 15 Sep 2014
Ã‚Â£2.35 for making my own tea in a paper cup with a tatty Tetley tea bag is extortionate!
Maureen Wicks, Sat 30 Aug 2014
I had to travel by car from lands end to Bradford via London and Bristol and stopped quite frequently on the journey including ChieveleyI am gluten intolerant and the only things I was offered to eat was a gf chocolate brownie and some crisps.
Heigh ho when will England wake up and realise we are in the 21st century.
Sarah Zastava, Wed 20 Aug 2014
I too received a Ã‚Â£100 fine for parking there for just over three hours. I had to wait a while for my clients to arrive after which we had a meal and a drink. It is disgraceful and neither I or any of my staff will ever use the place again to meet clients. We had started to use it every few weeks but there are plenty of fit and proper places around that do not take the p##s.
Gary, Thu 24 Jul 2014
My husband and I were travelling from Oxford to Gosport on the evening of May 10th 2014.We stopped at Chieveley Services at around 10.30pm for a drink and a bite to eat and to use the bathroom facilities.The stench of urine from the men's toilets was so overpowering, that it would be impossible to think of eating in such an unhealthy and unwelcoming environment. My husband said that the hand dryers were not working, reasonably clean but the stench was nauseating.In the ladies toilets you had to hunt for toilet paper and again hand dryers were not working. The floors were quite wet and their were vases of dead flowers everywhere - they may have died from their unhygienic surroundings.Nothing was open except Burger King and maybe Costa - but there were no apparent staff members. A very nice man eventually served us with two cups of tea from the 'Tetley' area.We left quickly holding our breath - very unpleasant and we shall definitely not be stopping here again.
Jacqui Slater, Sun 11 May 2014
Unless you enjoy Burger King for hot food don't stop at Chieveley Services. The main cafe area the early evening of the 29th March 2014 only could offer cold Sausages and Chips. I asked why no other food items were available and the staff member just shrugged his shoulders. Needless to say potential customers coming in after us were also appauled. Moto walk away from Chieveley Services accepting your unable for I'm sure many reasons, allowing others to provide a proper Service to those requiring hot food, other than Burger King and the Pasty annex by the main entrance. You should be doing so so much better.
John, Sat 29 Mar 2014
I was horrified to come home to a Ã‚Â£100 fine for parking in a service station. I was meeting a couple of work colleagues, and they were held up for a couple of hours, I sat outside with a coffee reading a book, all during this time I had not noticed any sign, when they arrived we went in side where I can still say I had not noticed any signs, probably because I have never heard of paying for parking at a service station where you are paying hiked prices for everything you purchase anyway. The fine could not of come at a worse time, I am getting married in 8 weeks and every penny counts.
Ann, Fri 7 Mar 2014
23 Jan 2014 - 7.45am. What I wanted was a nice full English breakfast. That was until I saw the price! What I got - a small dry, unbuttered, untoasted flat white bap with three wet microwaved rashers of fatty bacon dolloped inside. Plus a 25p charge for a small sachet of HP sauce. total price - Ã‚Â£4.74! Total cost of the ingredients? - probably less than 50p. Also, the two servers were having a hearty laugh at the fact that, at 7.45am, there was no more bacon left at all.
Marvellous! What must visitors to this country (let alone the locals!) think of such appalling and extortionate 'service' as this? Moto, you really need to get your act together, and if you can't, then I hope that motorists will drive right past Chieveley and your Company, your staff, and your utter rip-off prices will become just another unpleasant British motoring memory.
andy fielder, Thu 23 Jan 2014
Hi Lorraine,Please find attached the reply you sent me regarding a complaint I made aboutpoor service we received at your costa in chieveley services.I have now sent my name and address twice as requested in the email respondingto my complaint.As ofÃ‚Â todays date I have not received any correspondence regarding a voucher to use in your moto services, I think you will agree that this experiance backs up myÃ‚Â original complaint about the general poor quality of service offered by your company and staff.I won't be holding my breath waiting for a response , but I will be forwarding a copy of this email and previous emails to your head office to see if I get a better response with a better atitude towards customers.Regards Dave Taylor
Ã‚Â Dear Mr D TaylorÃ‚Â I firstly would like to appologise to you for yourÃ‚Â really bad experience you had with us at costa coffee Chieveley. Unfortunately that day we had staffing issues not just in Costa coffee but across siteÃ‚Â which in turn had a knock effect in many aspects of us trying to deliver a great customer service ie not getting crockery through the wash up quickly enough and slow service at our counter.Ã‚Â This does not represent theÃ‚Â Moto standards that we strive for and if you would like to forward an address i will forward you a voucher for use at any of our moto sites.Ã‚Â Kind RegardsÃ‚Â Lorraine CoryCosta Coffee Chieveley
Dave Taylor, Tue 27 Aug 2013
I regularly visit Chievely Service station as this is a neutral meeting point for my son to meet his dad. On Sun 28 Jul, my collected my son as usual, he asked for an ice lolly and bag of crisps for the journay home. I went into the shop and saw that McCoys had a special offer of 2 bags for Ã‚Â£1.80. I only purchased one bag and got an ice lolly from the freezer. When I got to the till I was astounded at the cost. One 35gram bag of crisps was Ã‚Â£1.22 and a normal lemonade ice lolly was Ã‚Â£1.99! How can this service station charge these extortionate prices when I can go to any tesco shop and buy a bag of these crisps for approx 50p. I will continue to take my son here as it is convenient for me and his dad, however I will certainly not be buying anything there again and will ensure that I take my own refreshments.
E Abbott-Myerscough, Thu 1 Aug 2013
Visited this service station Sunday July 14th and was scammed by a young blonde woman in a dark-coloured new estate car. She said her name was Ann and was very low on petrol but had left her wallet behind. I gave her Ã‚Â£10 and my address, and she promised she'd pay back straight away. Don't be fooled by these people. I've reported her to Action Fraud.
David Frankel, Sat 27 Jul 2013
Just stopped at Chieveley Services today for petrol and refreshments...petrol was extortionate! Never have I spent that much money (Ã‚Â£10 more) to fill my car up and never has that amount of petrol ever been able to fill my tank...something not right there! Drinks for children way too expensive...Ã‚Â£2.49 for a Fanta. After a long queue for Costa, my husband took back his so called fresh lemonade as it tasted like water...they did take it back and make another as they agreed it was made wrong. Do not recommend re-fuelling or stopping for refreshments here.
Mrs Alexander, Mon 15 Jul 2013
Having had a horrendous experience with my mother, a wheelchair user, at Membury services, we had a good experience at Chievely. I overshot the carpark and had to enter the coach park. I parked here while taking my mother to a shaded area. The carpark attendant stood in the disabled spot while I went around the one way system to get back into the carpark. The jacket potatoes were very good and the attendant apologetic at having to charge extra for two fillings!The disabled toilet, was clean and available, I think note must have been taken of the person who was unhappy with its distance from the entrance because we didn't find this to be the case, just near the other toilets and not a key toilet. Have to say I use a RADAR key for my mother's toilet use and the toilets that have keys are generally cleaner. The difficulty is if you don't have one or forget to carry it.
D Franks, Sat 13 Jul 2013
Being disabled and needing a walking frame I found the treck to the Disabled Toilet arduous as it is a long way from the entrance.I then found that a notice stated that I needed a Radar Key from W H Smith to gain access.This involved another long hike back to near the entrance.By this time I was in considerable PAIN and discomfort.WHY is it that the normal Ladies and Gentleman's toilet allow instant access but the disabled are forced to endure this humiliating and discriminating treatment.I am frankly disgusted and hope that I will NEVER have to use your Services again.
D P Anthony, Sat 6 Jul 2013
Like many others, I assumed that the parking restrictions were to stop commuters parking long term during the day, thereby keeping parking available for travellers and mobile workers like me (who spend a fortune at services on coffees, lunches, groceries, fuel and chocolate bars). I use services for meetings, and wifi etc and generally feel welcome at services, because I'm a good customer. Chievely though has a different business model. It's essentially a parking scam, and I assume that's where it's making a lot of its money. They're hitting a lot of drivers with parking charges in a fairly cynical, aggressive, and bordering on illegal way.I've paid the Ã‚Â£50. Because just like the dodgy clampers in the old days, it's easier to just pay it. However, in an attempt to get some common sense from Chievely, I'm going to try to get the message out on the social media that Chievely isn't a services, it's a parking trap. Feel free to help me spread the word. Chievely won't make much more profit from me, let's see if we can collectively dent there income. I'm also letting Costa know that their brand value is diminishing because they are being seen as part of a cynical parking scam. I'm out Ã‚Â£50, but with a bit of effort, Chievely will run a loss on the deal.ps Chievely isn't a services, it's a parking scam - please pass the word on. :-)
Ian McCall, Fri 8 Feb 2013
Huge holes in the roadways, expensive fuel and even more expensive to get drinks and supplies in the shops. Add to that the risk of parking fines and it makes it a no go area.I drive all over europe as a courier and outside of the UK you get decent food and supplies at reasonable prices, no waiting restrictions and no risk of fines and the service areas are always busy. Puts the UK service areas to shame, cheively has got to be one of the worst.
Nick Andrews, Sun 27 Jan 2013
Great shower newly put in makes a big difference thanks!
Dave, Tue 15 Jan 2013
Clean tidy with friendly staff
Anonymous, Mon 14 Jan 2013
Stopped with the family after a long drive, great coffee two kids play areas and a well needed refuel, keep it up guys!
Steve Thomas, Sat 29 Dec 2012
Stopped on the 23rd December and site was soooo busy! Staff were under pressure but the service i recieved was still great. I heard that Reading was closed so that's why is was like this but staff really were great! Well done.
Joanne Kirby, Sat 29 Dec 2012
Myself, husband and three year old just stopped at 7am for breakfast and the place is filthy! The Carpark is full if rubbish and every single table in the Costa/food area was dirty. We queued 20 mins in breakfast section to be told we had to wait a further ten mins for bacon! The sausage was very cheap and tasteless and the bread roll stale. The staff were slow and miserable and coffee machine out of order. I will not return and say it should come with a health warning! If I found any management I would of complained!
C Beckett, Sun 23 Dec 2012
My boyfriend and I stopped in at Chieveley last week. Little did I know this fag stop would remain in my memory for the rest of my life! I sparked up a ciggie whilst my boyfriend went to get us some drinks. He walked across the car park towards me holding two Costa coffees and a Burger King bag. Imagine my surprise when he then went down on one knee and presented me with a cheeseburger which had an engagement ring hidden in the middle! I was so shocked and happy! I was so excited I had to then use the toilet. They were very clean. I was impressed.
Sophie, Sat 8 Dec 2012
Arrived at the services 1st December 01:30 and watched 16 rats playing around the vending machines , coffee kiosk & food kiosk
It was only when the bill board marketing arrived to change posters that all the rats vanishedWe left at this point
I will think twice when using this services again
Lee Cox, Mon 3 Dec 2012
Anonymous, Sat 3 Nov 2012
i have careully read all the comments for & against Moto Services Chieveley, i would just like to make everybody aware that of the 117 members of Staff they have when i left their site, which incidently i call Paradise. All supported the intensive Care Ward at Bristol Royal Childrens Hospital & have helped me raise at least Ã‚Â£9000 of the Ã‚Â£11444 raised by my First~2~Club. All of the Staff have my Senior member names so Superwoman (M&S) must be mentioned followed by El Drifto (Costa) Tree Boy (EDC) Sir Kick A Lot (Costa) Dee Dee (Costa) Captain Jack Sparrow (Forecourt) Young Wolf (Management) & Mahmud (M&S) These are the frontrunners for raising substantial sums for the Hospital. in my mind they are all Superstars. P.J. (Retired)
PJ, Tue 23 Oct 2012
COSTA IZ ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING. I WOULD NEVER GO THERE AGAIN IF SOMEBODY PAYED ME. THE WHOLE UNIT STINKS, LITERALLY. THERE ARE FLIES EVERYWHERE. I'M SERIOUSLY CONSIDERING PHONING ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ITS JUST WRONG. WHEN I MENTIONED FLIES TO SAID STAFF MEMBER I GOT LAUGHED AT. THIS IS JUST NOT ACCEPTABLE. SORT IT OUT.... YOUR COSTA MUST BE AT LEAST FIVE YEARS OLD NOW SORT IT.
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED!, Sat 13 Oct 2012
I WAS ABSOLUTELY GOBSMACKED TO RECEIVE A Ã‚Â£50 FINE YESTERDAY FOR PARKING INTHIS SERVICE STATION. IT NEVER OCCURRED TO ME TO LOOK FOR A PARKING RESTRICTIONSIGN, WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON HERE? I HAVE RECEIPTS TO PROVE I WAS USING MOTO'S FACILITIES DURING THE TIME I WAS THERE. THE PARKING COMPANY CP PLUS WHOARE ACTING ON BEHALF OF MOTO HAVE SHOWN MY CAR IN TWO PHOTOS (WHICH COULD'VE BEEN TAKEN ANYWHERE!) AND THEN THIS PARKING SIGN IN A SEPARATE PHOTOGRAPH! I AM ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED AND WILL FIGHT THIS TO THE END! I AGREE WITH PREVIOUS COMMENTS ON PARKING, WHY THE HELL ARE WE CHARGED FOR PARKING THERE???? FAIR ENOUGH IF YOU USE THEIR CAR PARK AND THEN GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. THIS HAS CAUSED ME A LOT OF DISTRESS WHICH I COULD WELL DO WITHOUT.
mrs clarke, Sun 7 Oct 2012
I stopped there on Sunday on my return from Wales I thought the Service was very slow.I was behind two people a couple, for about 20 minutes,not good.Then I thought the Americana coffee I had was tasteless.
Terry Robins, Thu 13 Sep 2012
I received a notice based on my car entering the services and leaving the services with the times recorded. Both pictures taken as vehicle moving and no clear picture of the number plate with a sign for parking on the third picture. As there are no parking meters from which to obtain a ticket, the only way to ensure a receipt is available is to use a phone and pay by card. Most people would use a mobile phone thus incurring extra charges. On the evening in question I parked at the Travelodge as I met with friends and went into Hungerford for a meal. I decided not to stay so on the advice of the receptionist I went to WH Smith to pay my Ã‚Â£10, in cash unfortunately but obtained a receipt. Now why on earth would I keep the receipt for 2 weeks, which is how long it took for a fine to appear through my door. Damned right I aint paying it. So whoever says if you stay longer than 2 hours and the signs are clear, dont you assume that people dont pay the amount they are required to and dont assume that private parking companies are following the letter of the law. To add insult to injury no one answers the bl**dy phone at the services that are allegedly 24 hour and Service is a definite misnoma.
Beverley Edwards, Fri 24 Aug 2012
Re comments on parking "fines". They are issued by a private company and are an invoice you can choose or decline to pay. A fine can only be issued by Police or Council.See Martin Lewis or Google private parking fines.
Leslie R. Woodhouse, Sat 18 Aug 2012
Food overpriced, cold and disgusting. Took back back as it was cold and he microwaved it so it was like hot cardboard. Dreadful place.
Jonathan, Fri 17 Aug 2012
I can't understand why people complain at parking fines. The site clearly states on visible signage that parking is free for 2 hours and you need to pay if you stay longer. Is this so hard to understand?
Tony, Mon 23 Jul 2012
I recently had an interview at Chieveley for a job, the interview went on for 3 hours I was in the Costa the entire time and buying its products. Imagine my surprise at getting a fine for 90,00 eeven though I was using the services and did not intend to deceive I believe this is a cynical ploy by Moto and its parking company it shows a contempt for its customers. I have written and explained the situation to date with no compassion by the parking company or Moto. I would ask anyone else who has received similar treatment to let me know as I really am thoroughly sick of being seen as a cash cow by opportunistic companies disguising themselves as customer friendly
tracy jones, Tue 10 Jul 2012
Why are the prices high??? Cuz we there to serve u guys 24/7....
pablo colin castro, Sun 22 Apr 2012
Got shortchanged at the Costa coffee take away today .Only got back a five pound note instead of a ten,my own fault for not checking change at the time.Just a reminder to always check your change from any outlet!!
Anonymous, Fri 2 Mar 2012
I was horrified by the price of the petrol... 144p for unleaded - that is outrageous! Bring the price down please, it is daylight robbery. Also the price of sandwiches... nearly Ã‚Â£4 each! Not worth it. Tasteless, dry and seriously overpriced. I will never go there again until I see fairer pricing.
Lucy, Sat 11 Feb 2012
great service but very smelly near costa coffee made me gag when i went to get sugar for my coffee needs sorting as not healthy at all many thanks
dan in van, Thu 5 Jan 2012
Hi,Just had a look at the comments for the service area and realised I am not alone in falling for the parking charge and having the most expensive coffee I have ever had at Ã‚Â£90.Never again.Mick
mick Broom, Mon 17 Oct 2011
Stopped off at Chievely for a break on my way to Bath. I was pleasantly surprised as things seemed more organised and clean than my stop last year. The toilets were surprisingly clean and the service at BK was quick and friendly. This is not my normal experience at a motorway service area and was pleasantly surprised.
Matu Kamanda, Tue 6 Sep 2011
My route normally means this is the only stop I get. Well I was not impressed that the price of a double espresso jumped by about 40p overnight. I was told "it's because VAT's gone up". It doesn't take a mathematician to realise this is utter tosh - a handy pretext for a rip-off. At most the increase should have been about 4p.
Small Fry, Sat 27 Aug 2011
Called in for a meal late on Monday evening. Food was all right but no ketchup, no serviettes, no salt, only two knives available and both were dirty and had to be washed again. I wish I had bought something from M&S instead.
david smallwood, Wed 24 Aug 2011
I stopped there on my way to London and had a coffee at Costa and a burger from BK and the staff was quick and smiling witch make change for motorway services So I think that is worth a comment.Well done
Jean Paul Faustino, Tue 16 Aug 2011
This place made for a very pleasant stop on my journey, the kids watched lassie in a special "play area" -for free- while I had a coffee. Excellent service and clean toilets left me very pleasantly surprised, as I often stop at membury services where I have had bad experiences before. Needless to say, chievley services is my new stop of choice.
Marion Acrington, Sun 14 Aug 2011
Stopped at the site yesterday and was really impressed, so much better than when I stopped last year. The staff were friendly and helpful and the toilets clean.
Joanne, Fri 12 Aug 2011
I stopped for a quick snack on my down to Cardiff. Burger King staff very friendly and helpful. Toilets and eating area were clean as well. Overall good experience, would go back again!
Ann, Thu 11 Aug 2011
Great customer service, the friendly staff helped me when I needed to make a phone call as I realised I had left my wallet and phone on the kitchen table and was low on petrol!!!.
Phil simons, Thu 11 Aug 2011
Fantasic stop off fast & friendly!! Would recommend it.
Peter, Thu 11 Aug 2011
What a RIP OFF!!! I stopped for fuel on my way down to Bournemouth and at 149.9 per litre of diesel, daylight robbery!
Eliot Fraser, Tue 9 Aug 2011
we enjoyed a very nice salad and a coffee in the garden area at the back of the services, staff were very friendly and able to give us (sadly, much needed) directions! this is not a route we travel often but will definitely stop here again next time we are passing. A+
brian wilks, Mon 8 Aug 2011
Stopped off to use the loo very clean i was very impressed. Also the Pasty shop is great!
John Broad, Mon 8 Aug 2011
I stopped at Chieveley services for the first (and last) time Wednesday 3rd Aug 2011 at about 7.45 am When I went into the toilets they were disgusting. After trying four qubicles I eventualy found one with toilet paper,Whilst sat there I mistakingly took a look at the floor and walls of the cubicle. I am normally not that bothered about being spotless because sometimes, either due to cleaner not yet got around to that area, or even previous occupants these places by nature can be a bit iffy? BUT, these had not been cleaned for a very very long time. Then when trying to wash my hands, not one of the soap dispensers (I think five?)had any soap in them.As usuall the signed toilet cleaning scedule outside the door was up to date, so someone is either telling porkies, or their supevisor is definately not doing their job.It would be a good idea if occasionally the site manager were to walk past his/her personal toilet and take a few moments to sit and meditate in a public cubiale before their next team motivational meeting. He/She should be ashamed to be called manager. I would not accept that it was yesterdays dirt, or busy time because it was not. Any contract cleaning firms out there? call in with business card.
John Hewitt, Thu 4 Aug 2011
Took a break on our way down to Bournemouth and were impressed, so much better than the other services we have stopped at along the A34! The staff were friendly and the service quick - will certainly stop there next time.
Steve Williams, Mon 1 Aug 2011
Stopped in for a quick break on my journey as i was tired. The site was really busy but the staff were great! Quick, friendly service from Costa and Bk just what we needed to get us back on our way. We even bought a pasty for later as they smelt so good!! Great job guys!!
Katarzyna Konopka, Sun 31 Jul 2011
Just stopped and had a top pasty from the outside unit? Good Value for a motorway.
Duncan Cooper, Fri 29 Jul 2011
Awful, awful service. I was owed some money by a fruit machine one evening and was told to come back at 7am the next morning, and no later than 8am. I also asked if I would get travel money back and he said yes. When I arrived (after 20 miles) they said that I was too early and asked me to come back at 11am. Finally got my money but they refused to pay me for travel as there was a mis-communication. They would not even offer me lunch as it was lunch-time and I had been waiting around for so long. They also said that any time after 3pm during any day is too late to solve any problems with those fruit machines. Well, this particular area should be shut after 3pm - I mean, would you keep a shop open unmanned?! 4 hours of my time and extra petrol all wasted due to their incompetence. Having said that, the staff were pleasant and friendly but it seems that they had their hands tied behind their back. I shall never set foot in there again.
Annonymous, Fri 29 Jul 2011
Be there a few minutes over 2 hours and you'll get a rip off letter from their contracted company CP Plus charging you Ã‚Â£80. Tried talking to the Manager Richard Spraggs but he isn't a bit interested in his customers even though he benefits from the money they spend at his site while the clock ticks.
Drive past this one and try another service station that doesn't rip off its customers
Steve Harding, Fri 10 Jun 2011
Costa served me the worst cup of coffee of my life. Staff (two foreign girls as it turned out couldn't give a ****). I had my money back from the Duty Manager. But I think Chieveley Services is a waste of space. It would be better as a hole in the ground. I might get a better coffee.
Huw Kidwell, Fri 6 May 2011
HOW CAN YOU JUSTIFY SELLING PETROL AT 146 A LITRE, WHEN OTHER GARAGES CAN SELL IT AT 133. ITS DAYLIGHT ROBBERY.
Anonymous, Wed 6 Apr 2011
Had a business meeting there during the cold snap before Christmas, and the dining area was freezing cold. Okay, it was very cold outside but surely they have a heating system? As others have said, the two-hour rule is a bl**dy nuisance. Motorway service areas are great for business meetings, and I think this is a good source of custom for them - but they don't look after us at all. I had to cut a meeting short at Birchanger on the M11 the other day because we ran out of time.
John Clark, Tue 11 Jan 2011
I visited Chieveley service area on 28/12/10 with five others (two cars). We had a round of coffees and then fish and chips each. (Totalling about Ã‚Â£60 by the time you include the sauces) We had to have fish and chips because they had run out of everything else and then we had to wait and wait. Ok, we can put up with that and did it smiling.My car was there for 3.1/4 hours and for this privilage I have been fined Ã‚Â£80 as I stayed over 2 hours.I consider this excessive zeal on the part of Cark Park Plus Limited who operate on behalf of MOTO.I will not be going there again. Neither will my friends.
Julian Martin, Thu 6 Jan 2011
I travel quite a bit between London and Cornwall, not normally on this route and all I can say is thank god. What a damned rip off this place is, petrol is on average 10p a litre dearer than just about anywhere else I have seen it.
Even Burger King, a national chain, whose prices I expected to be consistent, were a total rip off, a meal that costs me Ã‚Â£5.49 in Paddington was an amazing Ã‚Â£7.19 here, coffee is 2.49 in the main restaurant area and their advertising showing 'amazing value' deals is laughable, can anyone honestly say they think Ã‚Â£4.99 for a bacon and egg bap is good value? If so then you need your head examining!
Robert, Tue 30 Nov 2010
I stayed at the travel lodge (and am still there as I write this) and visited the services 3 times. The first eveing I went at 7pm and there was no hot food? they had run out? So I got a sandwich from M&S. Next morning I had breakfast, and it was cold, didnt eat it all. As I am at exhibition and in a lorry, it's not easy to just go into a town and find somewhere to eat, so second evening I went back to the services, hoping to find it 3rd time lucky. I wasnt. onc again, it wasn't even 7pm, and I had fish and chips ... no peas, beans or veg available! And very few chips! At least Dick Turpin wore a mask!
Ago Fabrizio, Tue 19 Oct 2010
Similar to others on here, I had a meeting at Chievely Services, with a colleague from Southampton. We frequented the coffee shop, buying three rounds of coffees. The meeting lasted four hours. We both received tickets. I shall never stop at these services again, and would caution any other business person using the facilities for a meeting. Signage was poor to say the least, and to receive a parking fine, with no notice on the windscreen so it can be appealed or contested on the spot is very questionable to say the least. A very poor way of doing business.
Stephanie Taylor, Mon 4 Oct 2010
DO you know that today 19 th of september at 1 o'clock pm during the cast of "Les Papous dans la tÃƒÂªte" in france culture radio station , the chieveley motorway services has been the subjet of a french writer short novel.the pitch is that the area is now closed because of too much accidents . The explanation is that , because of the hastings battle and french victory, the cars are obliged to drive on the right side of the road :))You can podcast this story on france culture!Sorry for the french style and mistakes of this mail, but I had to tell you this funny storyNow , you have to inform users that this story is total " fiction" pascale
villemain, Sun 19 Sep 2010
The bathrooms have lovely flowers. It was too bad however that after walking into Costa that the staff completely ignored us for 10 minutes before we walked out, prefering to clean and put out new cakes. We tried to go to WH Smith instead but instead had our feet mopped by an indifferent cleaner!
Laura, Sun 5 Sep 2010
Broke down on the M4 slip road and was towed into chieveley services by 2 local very polite and decent policemen, we were towed to the right hand side of the car park, we were told by the AA that our tow truck would be over 2 hours to arrive, i went into the WH Smith shop and explained to them i had broken down and i would be in the car park for over 3 hours before the AA arrived, she then put my car registration through the system and i was allowed to stay for as long as i wanted free of charge, A wonderful polite lady and top marks for a top service. Thank you chieveley services for being so understanding 10/10
roseanne denton, Sat 10 Jul 2010
the staff were helpful and friendly,the room was clean and we would stay again,thank you
c smith, Mon 7 Jun 2010
I know that Moto have an appeals process for anyone who feels they shouldn't have received a parking notice. If you or someone you know has been a customer or fallen asleep and a parking notice has been issued, log onto the moto web site and get in touch with them. They also have a duty manager available who can deal with any customer concerns or queries before you leave site.
Heather, Thu 1 Apr 2010
I think chievely services has improved so much since it has opened. It looks presentable and the facilities are immaculate. Its a lovely welcoming to the travelers who choose to visit the service and use the facilities.
Ryan, Sun 7 Feb 2010
Stayed at Chieveley to eat a meal and do some revision for a forthcoming exam whilst waiting to pick up my daughter. Had no idea that there were charges for the cap park if you stay longer than 2 hours. now have the pleasure of paying a Ã‚Â£80 fine. never stop again - pity as I pass often. this is a draconian measure and a far too excessive fine. looking at the other comments I am not alone so the sinage must be poor.
Jols Harrington, Sat 2 Jan 2010
Made a first visit to Chieveley services last night - and due to their appalling signage got charged Ã‚Â£45 for the pleasure! When I drove in signs to what turned out to be the main car park simply said 'Parking 2 to 24 hours Ã‚Â£25' so I drove past the entrances and then found myself outside the coach parking which seemed to be on the way out. As most services send you back onto the road once you leave and it was one way I seemed left with the only option of parking in the coach area - so my 5 minute visit left me with a Ã‚Â£45 fine! Won't be going back and will be contacting the managers to suggest they need to improve their signs to make it clear that the entrances currently showing Ã‚Â£25 are the standard car park which is free unless you stay more than 2 hours
Nick, Wed 16 Dec 2009
No directions to disabled parking, also missed the entrance turn-offs first time round.
jill, Thu 5 Nov 2009
I work on a motorway service area and we get all kinds of people parking for over 2 hours. Most of them make sure they pre-pay for the extra time before they leave their car, but those who don't and end up with charge notice can appeal and if they have been a customer in the restaurant or something and they send in their receipt they can get the charge reduced.
Colin Mumms, Thu 5 Nov 2009
Like others had mtg spent money and incurred Ã‚Â£80 for the pleasure. Had no idea this punitive fine was in place and i certainly will never use this service station again.
david caddle, Sat 31 Oct 2009
Spent money in the service station, both M&S and the Cafe, had a meeting with staff there and have been wacked with a lovely Ã‚Â£80 charge for parking just over 2hrs. No joy from the services of this being refunded, shall not be using them or promoting them in future. Thank you very much!!
James, Tue 20 Oct 2009
Had a meeting at the services stayed on site spending money, no notification left on vehicle, have now received Ã‚Â£80.00 fine I WILL NEVER STOP THERE AGAIN!
Paul de Lange, Tue 13 Oct 2009
Had a meeting at Chieveley svcs, with customers 14.07.09. Spent money in the cafe and M&S. Two cars picked up fines of Ã‚Â£80.00 each. What sort of service is this ? Tried to contact Chieveley today by phone but no answer. Who can I take this up with ? Disgusted !
Roy Shipley, Tue 4 Aug 2009
Visited these services last night, and once again was extremely pleased by the standards here. Well done to all the staff!
JJ, Sun 24 May 2009
I went to there services last week and was pleasantly suprised by cleanliness of the toilets. Our family enjoyed the day out we had complimented by the childrens play area and great food facilities that the area provides. The sign's on the way out are very confusing though and i ended up heading the wrong way up the motorway into oncoming traffic.
Nick, Tue 5 May 2009
Ã‚Â£25 to park is extortiant. It is against any green actions as we now have to take two cars on a parallel journey. Also, it surely negatively impacts the revenue for the M&S Simply Food Shop. Reduce the daily charge for parking.
Debbie Hoult, Thu 2 Oct 2008
In 2007 I paid Ã‚Â£8 for parking for the day in front of the services. Yesterday I was charged Ã‚Â£25. The charge is mentioned on a notice behind the ticket machine, not on the machine itself. The operators say that there is signage to say that the long stay parking is behind the Travelodge but I didn't see it on entering. Be warned!
john riley, Mon 1 Sep 2008
Excellent curry at the Eat Drink Company - and had a good business meeting in comfy chairs with power for the laptop. Very friendly and courteous staff.
tim, Wed 28 May 2008
Have just contacted services at chieveley to confirm if burgerking is accepting the vouchers ie chicken royale b.o.g.o.f and aberdeen angus burgers b.o.g.o.f they have confirmed that they are taking the vouchers unlike the services at Telord junc 4 M54 (meanies)so if i were you i would avoid stopping there.
morris, Mon 14 Jan 2008
Visited these today, excellent standard of cleanliness. It was extrememly busy there, and you could see some staff were under pressure. Food available was filling, hot, and of a high standard. The shop M&S, seemed a bit bland, and the staff didnt seem to care, No please, no thank you, not even a smile or a carrier bag.
JJ, Thu 27 Sep 2007
Very Clean, Nice food - A NIGHMARE TO NAVIGATE. Why do Moto insist on stupid signage?I purchased fuel and then wanted food so had to go out onto the newly designed road with 5 roundabouts and try to find my way in again. Getting out was even better as they have moved the car park round but not changed the direction arrows so ended up facing a bush where the exit should have been.Get your act together MOTO
Tony, Sat 26 May 2007
As you have to leave the M4 to get to these services they are less frantic than the normal ones. The restaurant has a pleasant seating area. The self service cake range is good and well presented. I had organic carrot cake but there are more conventional cakes as well. Mens toilets are well looked after - well done the staff.
David, Wed 30 Aug 2006
Badly situated- the layout getting out of the services is confusing- although the actual services are average
richard inglis, Wed 10 May 2006
Chieveley Services M4 is a 2 burger rated service area.
Your overall impression of Chieveley Services M4:
You must choose one of the overall ratings, above. Optionally, you can also give a rating for
any or all of the other options.
Based on your own experience, would you say that this is a good service area for
MotorwayServices.info is an independent website. It is not associated with the Highways Agency or any motorway services operator.
MotorwayServices.info is a Good Stuff website.